Journey of Inspiration with Joyce

Welcome to a Journey with Joyce

Our journey this week will focus on Inspiration

This week, I had the opportunity to read a coaching book called: The Body Fat Solution, by Tom Venuto. Tom refers to himself as a fitness coach. His fat burning solution program is one of those well advertised programs on the internet. Tom has a blog and several websites to promote his fat burning programs. I must confess that I had not heard of Tom before coming across his book at elibraries.com. What I liked about Tom’s book is that it was audio mp3 and it needed no conversion to play on my HTC smart phone. Actually, when I started listening to the book it seemed quite technical and I thought, oh bother, another boring book. I thought I would skip the first chapter and tried the second chapter. I am glad I stuck with it because I soon realized that Tom was using many well known coaching strategies to equip the reader with information that was awareness rising and motivating. It soon became apparent that he was establishing a coaching relationship with the reader. I have listened to the book and would highly recommend Tom’s book as a resource for anyone who wants to investigate some of the myths about diet, calories, foods and exercising. I very much enjoyed his fresh, open and reality check about what causes fat. He provides some proven strategies to retrain the mind. I especially like the book because Tom incorporates good coaching strategies. He discusses life realities, poor eating habits, overcoming roadblocks, changing limiting beliefs, setting personal goals, planning, as well as exploring options and alternatives. You can Google Tom or read his book for yourself.

I must confess that after listening to Tom’s book, I have a new attitude about how much fat I am comfortable with on my body. As a result, I have set a goal to lose 10lbs of body fat and keep it off, over the next year. I am also committed to building and maintaining muscle mass as this is such a vital part of fitness.

Reflections

We can use weight management or any other challenges in our life to hold us back from attaining our goals. Is there a limiting belief that is holding you back from achieving a weight goal or other life goal? Is there something you want to accomplish in 2012?

Coaching Questions

  1. Is there something that you can do in the next seven days to help you reframe a limiting belief that’s preventing you from achieving your goals?
  2. What personal challenge do you want to overcome?
  3. What will it look like when you have achieved your goal?
  4. Is there someone you can speak to about a belief or road block that is holding you back?


     

Leave a comment