Reducing Your Fall Stress

As we move into the month of August, it is time to begin looking at the things we need to have in place to make our entry into fall smooth and impactful. Are you planning on taking vacation in August? Have you set plans in motion for your return and have you taken the necessary steps to ensure that you don’t fall back into work but rather make a gradual return into your fall winter routine.

I was interviewed by Canadian Living Magazine this spring for an article that will be in their August edition on reducing fall stress. As I prepare for vacation, I too have been taking steps to ensure that my entry into fall is smooth and gradual. I find that it really robs me of the joy of vacation when I come back to work and face a mountain of tasks that had not been planned and prepared for. There will always be an array of unplanned and unscheduled changes to our calendars, routines and lives. However, it is important for us to plan and make contingencies for those that we are able to foresee or control.

Another way to ensure that you are managing your stress well and preparing for the fall activity is to measure your IWQ this is your Interpersonal Wellness Quotient which tells you how you are doing and how much you will be able to contribute to your life or work. Note this also tells you how much you can contribute to the wellness of your relationships so that you are better able to prevent and manoeuvre challenging situations. As you complete this test, ask yourself what you would want to do differently in your life and in what areas would you like to develop your wellness so that you will have more capacity to share with the world, and of course to ensure that you have the energy and vitality that you will need for a busy and impactful fall.

I would love to hear how you plan on preparing for the fall. Please take some time to share some of your tips below with our readers.

2 thoughts on “Reducing Your Fall Stress

  1. I wanted to share with you what Monday meant to me and how it has impacted me. Your powerful question about had I gotten to know the new me was the catalyst to moving me into a relationship with the new me that I have not experienced before. What made it even more powerful was the emotional reaction from my husband Glen when a told him about the question. The person I left behind was the old me. I have cremated my old habits and fears and begun a lifelong love affair with the new me. Thank you. I wrote a blog about the introduction of the new me. I have also been able to accomplish more writing for book and tasks that were causing some anguish in my life. The results of that powerful question has moved me so much further then you can even image. Have a beautiful and blessed day and vacation.

  2. Hi MaryAnne,

    You continue to be an inspiration. I am so pleased for you and the success you are having in broadening your connections with yourself and your new reality. Congratulations!!!

Leave a comment